The Malaysia Tourism Centre (MaTiC) a division within the Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture (MOTAC) is located in building in Kuala Lumpur, which is both an architectural and historical landmark. Built in 1935, the main building served as the residence of a wealthy mining and rubber estate tycoon, Eu Tong Seng. Its architecture is typically colonial reflecting the era during which it was built.
In 1941, it briefly housed the war office of the British Army. However, when the Japanese invaded Malaya during the Second World War, it became the headquarters of Japanese Imperial Army until the end of the war in 1945. Soon after, the new government of the Federation of Malaya (as Malaysia was then termed) claimed ownership of the building. A conference hall was added and named the Tunku Abdul Rahman Hall, in honour of YTM Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al Haj, the country's first Prime Minister.
Since then, the Hall has become the venue for numerous historical events including the Malayan Parliament in 1959 and the Installation Ceremonies for several of Yang Di Pertuan Agong (Malaysian Kings).
In 1988, the then Ministry of Culture, Arts and Tourism refurbished the main building, added two wings to the existing building and renamed it the Malaysia Tourist Information Complex (MATIC). Opened to the public since mid-August 1989, MaTiC offered a wide range of facilities and services to assist tourists in planning unforgettable holidays in Malaysia. It also enabled them to experience the essence of Malaysia within the Complex through the various cultural shows and demonstrations. On February 16, 2001, the name was changed and the Malaysia Tourism Centre (MaTiC) or also known as Pusat Pelancongan Malaysia, was born.